cx500c rear cowl mock up
Close

Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 ... LastLast
Like Tree23Likes

Thread: cx500c rear cowl mock up

cx500c rear cowl mock up

Hello all - I have been looking for a standard tank for my custom for some time now and it has not worked out so far. In the mean time I started playing around with some rough ideas about what I could do with the custom tank. The images below are a mock up using someone else's bike. Mine is currently a stock cx500c.

The idea is to make a rear cowl out of fiberglass that matches the custom tank as I have seen done before. The extension on the idea is to have a removable section that would reveal more seating area for carrying someone.

I wanted thoughts on the shape and angle of the cowl with the custom tank, and than also thoughts on the morphing cowl/seat idea. I have seen it done in the past but am pondering the feasibility. It may be more trouble than it is worth.

Name:  cx500c rear cowl design 1.jpg
Views: 2007
Size:  38.2 KB
    Name:  cx500c rear cowl design 2.jpg
Views: 1577
Size:  34.7 KB
    Last edited by culprit; 09-19-2013 at 02:55 PM.
    1979 CX500c Cafe/Brat in Progress Build Thread

More angle... but it seems like the rear seat section would be at a weird angle unless I brought the seat cushion higher.

Name:  cx500c rear cowl design 3.jpg
Views: 1536
Size:  35.6 KB
    Last edited by culprit; 09-19-2013 at 03:01 PM.

I decided I liked the design with the straight seat and cowl. Here is what it could look like with the cowl removed. Not sure yet what would be best for the attachment mechanism. I would prefer something that doesn't need screws. Some kind of clips or straps would be ideal.

Name:  cx500c rear cowl design 4.jpg
Views: 1453
Size:  38.0 KB

4. Remove Advertisements
    CX500Forum.com
    Advertisements

magnetic attachment would be cool
    GET AN OIL FILTER ADAPTER

Order The Quick Build Exhaust Pipes

GET A QUICKSET VALVE TOOL

Way to many bikes to maintain this list LOL !!