Close
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
    So I've been meaning to swap off my road-rashed crash bars for a while. I finally got around to taking out the wrenches today to remove the old ones. As I hunkered down over the first bolt and gave it a good turn I noticed it seemed very tight. I did the old mental lefty-loosey-righty-tighty imaging and had a look at the bolt to be sure I was turning the right way (I was). Unfortunately as I inspected the bolt I saw that while my wrenching didn't loosen the bolt it did break a decent chunk of engine housing.

So, my questions:

• Has this happened to anyone else?
    • Is there a relatively easy fix? (I'm an apartment dwelling roadside mechanic)
    • What would you do in my situation?

I've attached a photo of the damage.

IMG_20120518_165054 by Ryan Whalen, on Flickr
    1980 CX500 Deluxe - Pretty much stock

Wellllllll. . .

You're kind of screwed, kind of not.

You may be able to get someone to aluminum weld it, but it will never be the same.

That all being said, you have only lost one of the 8 engine mounts.

If it was me, I'd keep riding it, periodically checking the upper mount for cracking.

Pretty much makes your engine guard useless though.
    Currently own, '78 CX500, '82 CX500T, '83 CX650E, '08 DR-Z400 SM

Previously owned: CX500T (x3), CX650T, CX 650C, GL650I, '81 CX500D (x2), CB750F SS (x2) CB750K (x2), CB450/2, CB350/4,
    BMW R-60/6, Suzuki GS450T, GS550E, GS1000E

dont feel bad i am sorry to say that the stress that broke that is probably the same impact that put the road rash on the crash bar

that mounting point is not meant to take side load when the bike fell on the crash bar it was weakened and may have even cracked then

you loosening the bolt just finished it

that having been said on the inside of that boss is plenty of room if you find someone who can tig or heliarc aluminum there is lots of room