Failed stator, ignitech or replace?? - Page 2
Close
    
    
Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 25
Like Tree15Likes

Thread: Failed stator, ignitech or replace??

  1. #11
    Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Location
    Virginia
    Posts
    30
    Pulled the plug caps - I have the brass rod mod and did not save the resistors. This should read as 0 right? I am getting a reading of 1.6?
    79 cx500c project

  2. #12
    Super Moderator CXPHREAK's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    South Australia
    Posts
    14,616
    Should be zero. but 1.6 isn't much.

    I'd have a scratch around at the end of the cap and see if I can get zero but that's not bad.

    Rebuilding Handlebar Switches

    http://s1085.photobucket.com/user/CXPHREAK/library/Switchgear%20rebuild?sort=6&page=1

    Rider 81 500C, Thingy Born a 78Z. Ozdeluxe born an 80 shadow.

    GET A MULTIMETER RTFM I am a CX500. If you maintain me I will run forever.

    http://cx500forum.com/mediawiki/inde...itle=Main_Page

  3. #13
    Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Location
    Virginia
    Posts
    30
    Thanks CXPHREAK, so the consensus is that fitting an ignitech or Raesan unit would at least address these issues? any preference between the two? Ill start reading up on both today!
    79 cx500c project

  4. Remove Advertisements
    CX500Forum.com
    Advertisements
     

  5. #14
    Super Moderator CXPHREAK's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    South Australia
    Posts
    14,616
    You should be sweet. just out of interest what resistance does your MM show with the probes touched directly together?
    Rebuilding Handlebar Switches

    http://s1085.photobucket.com/user/CXPHREAK/library/Switchgear%20rebuild?sort=6&page=1

    Rider 81 500C, Thingy Born a 78Z. Ozdeluxe born an 80 shadow.

    GET A MULTIMETER RTFM I am a CX500. If you maintain me I will run forever.

    http://cx500forum.com/mediawiki/inde...itle=Main_Page

  6. #15
    Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Location
    Virginia
    Posts
    30
    Reads 0, thats why the 1.6 with the plug caps was confusing me a bit. Thanks again for walking me through this, will update the thread when parts arrive.
    CXPHREAK likes this.
    79 cx500c project

  7. #16
    Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Location
    Virginia
    Posts
    30
    Just to clarify, this table suggests that you need the g47 stator to run the ignitech? Given that my stator appears to still be capable of charging the battery i should just be able to install the ignitech right?

    Name:  Screen Shot 2016-09-30 at 4.30.57 PM.png
Views: 67
Size:  185.3 KB
    79 cx500c project

  8. #17
    JC
    JC is offline
    Super Moderator JC's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Location
    Down Under
    Posts
    1,921
    G47 runs the Ignitech just fine so long as the battery charging coils work.

  9. #18
    Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Location
    Virginia
    Posts
    30
    So I have dropped the motor (and before people start shouting triple bypass ) to install the Rae San Hall effect and when manually turning the motor I'm noticing one cylinder appears to function normally while the other hardly draws in or pushes out air. Ive checked and adjusted the valves with no change in results. When I preformed the compression test prior to dropping that motor, I was getting 135 in each cylinder. The cylinder in question makes a slight releasing of air sound (like maybe its leaking around the piston) Wondering if this is something I should try to address while the motor is already pulled. Any thoughts are appreciated!

    Since the motor is pulled and I'm already running a partially failed stator, would most people recommend a G8 at this point?
    Last edited by newt500; 04-18-2017 at 12:58 PM.
    79 cx500c project

  10. #19
    OCR
    OCR is offline
    Senior Member OCR's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Groton NY
    Posts
    2,534
    Changing to the G8 will give you more output for accessories.
    Can you doo a leak down test?
    You may need to replace valve seals/guides.
    purplecx500 and newt500 like this.
    Past Master, Dryden Lodge #472
    Caroline Lodge # 681
    RAM Fidelity # 77





    '79CX500C

    http://cx500forum.com/mediawiki/inde...itle=Main_Page



    we are all given sh*t in life, but some of us learn to turn it into fertilizer and grow from it, and some us try to fling it on others like monkeys.

  11. #20
    Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Location
    Virginia
    Posts
    30
    Can borrow a compressor and have a compression tester but can that be done with motor out? Pressurize the cylinder with the compressor and measure the rate it leaks with the tester gauge?

    no experience with a leak down, clearly but will read up on my options. Thanks!
    79 cx500c project

Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3 LastLast

Sponsored Links

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Similar Threads

  1. Stuffed G47 stator, replace or go G8+ Rays or Ignitech?
    By spinnanz in forum Technical Help Forum
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 07-24-2016, 04:31 PM
  2. Replies: 86
    Last Post: 04-28-2016, 12:49 PM
  3. New stator failed charging system? Stator sources Europe?
    By Lacher in forum Technical Help Forum
    Replies: 32
    Last Post: 04-28-2015, 03:23 PM
  4. Ignitech failed?
    By danpatdav in forum Technical Help Forum
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 03-25-2012, 06:53 PM