Failed stator, ignitech or replace??
Close
    
    
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 25
Like Tree15Likes

Thread: Failed stator, ignitech or replace??

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Location
    Virginia
    Posts
    30

    Failed stator, cylinder pressure issues

    Hello,

    Trying to get this bike back on the road. After performing a compression test and the stator test, Following this link:
    stator test
    and this one: https://motofaction.org/motorcycles/...r-honda-cx500/)

    These were my results:

    1/5: 114.1
    2/5: 95.4
    3/5: .21
    4/5: 116.9
    6/5: 98.6
    7/5: .2
    9/5: .39
    8/9: .39

    My questions are, does this diagnosis look correct to everyone?
    Attachment 53634
    Would it then be cheaper to go with the ignitech so that I can skip having to replace the stator and advance?
    Would the stator be able to charge the battery in the state that it is in?
    Do these results suggest other electrical issues?

    Compression was at 135 in both cylinders, which i know is well below spec but Ive read on here that plenty of bikes run at 120 etc and would rather cross that bridge when it falls out from under me if possible! Thanks for your help on this, I dont really know what to do next.

    T
    Last edited by newt500; 04-19-2017 at 02:20 PM. Reason: language accuracy
    79 cx500c steep learning curve project

  2. #2
    Super Moderator CXPHREAK's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    South Australia
    Posts
    14,462
    Check the battery charging coils in that stator. Should be continiuty with low consistent resistance between the 3 yellow charge wires and no continuity from any yellow to ground.

    If that's OK you can fit an ignitech or Raesan. Neither use the failed high and low coils on your stator or your failed advance pulsers.

    Or there is the option of fitting a new G47 stator and a set of advance pulsers which will need to be sourced used.
    Rebuilding Handlebar Switches

    Rider 81 500C, Thingy Born a 78Z. Ozdeluxe born an 80 shadow.

    GET A MULTIMETER RTFM I am a CX500. If you maintain me I will run forever.

    http://cx500forum.com/mediawiki/index.php?title=Main_Page

    The WIKI link for all the good tech stuff. including free FSM's with addendums

  3. #3
    JC
    JC is online now
    Super Moderator JC's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Location
    Down Under
    Posts
    1,919
    Quote Originally Posted by newt500 View Post
    Hello,

    Trying to get this bike back on the road. After performing a compression test and the stator test, Following this link:
    stator test
    and this one: https://motofaction.org/motorcycles/...r-honda-cx500/)

    These were my results:

    1/5: 114.1
    2/5: 95.4
    3/5: .21
    4/5: 116.9
    6/5: 98.6
    7/5: .2
    9/5: .39
    8/9: .39

    My questions are, does this diagnosis look correct to everyone?
    Attachment 53634
    Would it then be cheaper to go with the ignitech so that I can skip having to replace the stator and advance?
    Would the stator be able to charge the battery in the state that it is in?
    Do these results suggest other electrical issues?

    Compression was at 135 in both cylinders, which i know is well below spec but Ive read on here that plenty of bikes run at 120 etc and would rather cross that bridge when it falls out from under me if possible! Thanks for your help on this, I dont really know what to do next.

    T
    On 2K Ohms your meter is probably showing .2 when it means 200 Ohms. By entering .2 into the test you're telling it that the reading is .2 Ohms - can you double check that?

    On the online test there's a paragraph along the same lines:

    If you are setting your multimeter to 2k ohms and the screen shows e.g. .200 or .400, your reading is probably 200 or 400 ohms and not .2 or .4 ohms - check your results and multimeter manual. This is causing some false results on the test.

  4. Remove Advertisements
    CX500Forum.com
    Advertisements
     

  5. #4
    Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Location
    Virginia
    Posts
    30
    Thanks CXPHREAK, if these are the right wires:
    Name:  Screen Shot 2016-09-29 at 10.10.27 PM.png
Views: 120
Size:  90.4 KB

    based on these labels:
    Name:  Screen Shot 2016-09-29 at 10.12.46 PM.png
Views: 120
Size:  106.2 KB

    My results are:
    A/B: 1.4
    B/C: 1.4
    C/A: 1.4

    A/5: 0
    B/5: 0
    c/5: 0

    So this would suggest that the ignitech would solve the problem right?
    79 cx500c steep learning curve project

  6. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Location
    Virginia
    Posts
    30
    JC, Will confirm tomorrow but since it was in the middle of me taking the other readings, I'm almost certain that it was correct as I didnt adjust my meter and the readings that follow appear accurate. Thanks for pointing that out!
    CXPHREAK likes this.
    79 cx500c steep learning curve project

  7. #6
    Super Moderator CXPHREAK's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    South Australia
    Posts
    14,462
    Yes, but check JCs post above mate. If you had your MM on 200 ohms you may not have a problem. He raises a good point. Your 4 fails are all should have readings around or above 200 ohms.
    Rebuilding Handlebar Switches

    Rider 81 500C, Thingy Born a 78Z. Ozdeluxe born an 80 shadow.

    GET A MULTIMETER RTFM I am a CX500. If you maintain me I will run forever.

    http://cx500forum.com/mediawiki/index.php?title=Main_Page

    The WIKI link for all the good tech stuff. including free FSM's with addendums

  8. #7
    Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Location
    Virginia
    Posts
    30
    to make sure im reading it right, this is my meter (pretty budget) the manual says that on the ohms setting "Resistance Function: Measures resistance. Auto-ranging from 0 to 20MW
    (20,000,000W). "
    Name:  Screen Shot 2016-09-29 at 10.34.42 PM.png
Views: 121
Size:  448.1 KB

    on this setting, I got all of those results.
    79 cx500c steep learning curve project

  9. #8
    JC
    JC is online now
    Super Moderator JC's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Location
    Down Under
    Posts
    1,919
    You don't happen to have any resistors on-hand to measure and see what the readings look like, do you? Some people have them laying around...

  10. #9
    Super Moderator CXPHREAK's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    South Australia
    Posts
    14,462
    Plug caps?
    Rebuilding Handlebar Switches

    Rider 81 500C, Thingy Born a 78Z. Ozdeluxe born an 80 shadow.

    GET A MULTIMETER RTFM I am a CX500. If you maintain me I will run forever.

    http://cx500forum.com/mediawiki/index.php?title=Main_Page

    The WIKI link for all the good tech stuff. including free FSM's with addendums

  11. #10
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Posts
    4,398
    I think his Auto-range readings are accurate enough to indicate his Stator is FUBAR. Although, the charging side appears to be functional.

    No sense in piddlin' around hunting for 1 or 2 ohms...........
    OCR likes this.

Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Sponsored Links

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Similar Threads

  1. Stuffed G47 stator, replace or go G8+ Rays or Ignitech?
    By spinnanz in forum Technical Help Forum
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 07-24-2016, 04:31 PM
  2. Replies: 86
    Last Post: 04-28-2016, 12:49 PM
  3. New stator failed charging system? Stator sources Europe?
    By Lacher in forum Technical Help Forum
    Replies: 32
    Last Post: 04-28-2015, 03:23 PM
  4. Ignitech failed?
    By danpatdav in forum Technical Help Forum
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 03-25-2012, 06:53 PM